Bujinkan Ranks

Shodan Level Training
Ninpo Taijutsu training from 9th kyu to Shodan will give you a systematic overview of the Nine Ryu, including foundations, postures, punches, kicks, weapon basics, history, stealth, chokes, grappling, throws, meditation, proper body movement, etc. Hundreds and hundreds of techniques. Average training time from 9th kyu to shodan is 3 years. Covers the main aspects of Togakure Ryu, Gyokko Ryu, Koto Ryu, Kukishinden Ryu, Shinden Fudo Ryu, Takagi Yoshin Ryu. Students focus on each individual ryu, beginning at nidan level.

Kyu Grades are divided into these levels.
Once completed you become a Shodan and receive your Black Belt.
9th Kyu (Kyukyu)
8th Kyu (Hachikyu)
7th Kyu (Nanakyu)
6th Kyu (Rokkyu)
5th Kyu (Gokyu)
4th Kyu (Yonkyu)
3rd Kyu (Sankyu)
2nd Kyu (Nikyu)
1st Kyu (Ikkyu)

Budo Taijutsu Training
After learning a very solid overview of the nine schools that make up the teachings of the Bujinkan Dojo, you will begin to explore each individual ryu in a more in depth way, by studying the deeper principles and partner exchange forms (waza). Unlike a Kata which is performed by oneself to perfection, wazas are interactive drills that are done with at least 2 persons both in a formal way and with many variations, or henka, so that the principles of the school can also be learned. Wazas also help you learn timing, distancing, and eventually true budo protection methods. Each of the 9 schools have their own focuses and attributes and may favor certain weapons.

Nidan Level Training
2nd degree Black Belt training includes Kosshijutsu study of the principles and Gyokko ryu wazas of Jo Ryaku no maki, Churaku no maki and Geryaku/Mutodori gedan plus 29 Kukishinden Ryu Hanbojutsu, Shoden/Chuden/Okuden level wazas.

Sandan Level Training
3rd degree Black Belt training includes principles and wazas of Shinden Fudo Ryu Dakentaijutsu, Ten & Chi No Maki, Shizen Shikoku No Kata Jutaijutsu, Shoden Gata/Juroku Gata/Chuden/Okuden levels and from Kukishinden Ryu: Rokushakubojutsu - Shoden, Chuden, Okuden, Kuden levels

Yondan Level Training
4th degree Black Belt training includes principles and wazas of Takagi Yoshin Jutaijutsu including Shoden No Kata/Chuden No Sabakigata/Chuden No Tai No Gata/Okuden No Kata levels and Eri Shimegata, Moguri levels. Kukishinden Ryu: Yari Jutsu, Kodachi, Muto Dori

Godan Level Training
5th Degree Blackbelt training includes principles and wazas of Koto Ryu KoppojutsuShoden -Chuden-Okuden - Hekuto No Kata. Daishosabaki - Bokuden Ryu
Shiken Gata Shodan thru Kudan levels
At this time all 5th degree (Godan) tests must be taken in Japan with Soke Masaaki Hatsumi or by Judan (10th degree black belt) or above, in Soke’s presence.

Rokudan Level Training
6th degree Black Belt training includes principles and wazas of Kukishinden Ryu
Dakentaijutsu including the Shoden / Chuden / Sabaki Gata / Okuden No Kata / Shirabe Moguri Gata levels. Weapon is Naginata and Roikumiuchi.

Nanadan Level Training
7th degree Black Belt training includes principles and wazas of Togakure Ryu Happo Hiken Kenpo- Itto giri / Kakushi Iai Sanpo / Ukemi gata / Shinobi Iai Happo Sabaki Happo Bikenjutsu Level 1. Specialties / Ninpo

Hachidan Level Training
8th degree Black Belt training is Juppo Sessho and includes wazas of Kukishinden Jojutsu - Shoden Koshiki Gata - Kjui no ho, Kutsu no ho (Joruku gata) Happo
Bikenjutsu Level 2plus Jutte and Bisento -

Kudan Level Training
9th degree Black Belt training includes the basic understanding of Gikan Ryu Koppojutsu principles / Jutaijutsu Jodan No Kurai Tehodoki and Taihodoki Kukishinden Ryu:Tessen Jutsu Happo Bikenjutsu level 3 Budo Taijutsu Weapons Ura Waza

Judan Level Training
10th degree Black Belt training includes the understanding of Budo Taijutsu Ura Waza principles Happo Bikenjutsu Level 4 and a personal choice of a deep spiritual practice. Take a look at Gyokushin Ryu principles.

This top Shihan ranking will take the signatures of Shihan Van Donk and at least 2 other Judans plus the final agreement of Soke Hatsumi.

Judan has 5 Grade levels
10th Dan Judan
10th Dan Judan Chigyo Happo Biken
10th Dan Judan Suigyo Happo Biken
10th Dan Judan Kagyo Happo Biken
10th Dan Judan Fugyo Happo Biken
10th Dan Judan Kugyo Happo Biken

The 5 advanced levels of Judan are awarded by Soke Hatsumi at his discretion.

While really incorrect they are often referred to 11th to 15th dan, even by Soke Hatsumi as it became easier to say.

In Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu, there are 10 dan rankings, with 10th dan having 5 additional levels. They are not separate dan rankings, but are sometimes referred to as such.)

Source: http://www.ninjutsu.ws/ninjutsu-curriculum/